My Heart’s Memories

I read an article today about the way music can trigger memories. Sometimes a song is just familiar and friendly, but some songs have strong associations with events in one’s life. One song with strong autobiographical associations for me is “Jar of Hearts” by Christina Perri. It brings images and feelings to mind; particularly, sitting and crying on a bed at my cousins’ house, and driving determinedly from their house to ASU to see Sicily, so that we could eat ice cream and watch something funny and not at all romantic. It’s strange, but this song also reminds me of the powerful way that God got me through my broken engagement. It reminds me that just when I needed them, my cousins were there to help me pack up my dorm room to move, boxing up or throwing away every relic of my dead relationship. It reminds me of the way I could feel the prayers of my friends and family working, giving me peace. It reminds me of the new friends God sent me that summer to build up my spirit.

What songs trigger memories for you?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marie Midtlid
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 22:39:40

    I remember situations a lot whenever I listen to a song. Especially, “Payphone” by Maroon 5 brings memories back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

