Auditioning to be a Teacher

Well, I’m packing to go to Denver at the last minute. Sicily and I are leaving tomorrow morning at 8:45 to see Janna in Denver!! I’m going to try to find my camera- it will be the first time I’ve used it since high school, essentially. Looking at all the photography on the blogosphere actually makes me miss using it (and makes me want a new and better one).

I had a job interview for a part-time, elementary music job today. I’ve been nervous about it all week, but it must have gone moderately well because they asked me to come back and do a teaching demo. The thought of doing a teaching audition scares me. The interview was scary enough, but now I have to come in and teach with people watching and analyzing me.

Teaching makes me so much more nervous than performing does. As a performer I could memorize and work out all details beforehand, but as a teacher I can do my best to plan and then I have to think on my feet. Also, children rely on teachers to give them the life skills and knowledge they need to live as productive and happy people, which seems a very serious commission to me. With the theme of planning vs. improvisation, I’m not really nervous about crafting a lesson plan. I’m nervous about how to handle the things that just come up in a classroom, especially discipline. But, if God wants me here, I’ll get the job, and if He doesn’t He’ll have something else for me. My responsibility is to do the best I can.

Perhaps I should petition to acquire the disorder strabismus

“A cross-eyed teacher can keep twice the number of children in order than any other, because the pupils do not know who she’s looking at.”  ~Four Hundred Laughs: Or, Fun Without Vulgarity, compiled and edited by John R. Kemble, 1902

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Travis C
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 01:58:42

    You’re going to knock ’em dead. Let me know if you want to brainstorm lesson plan stuff. I’m happy to give you my input. Enjoy your trip (I’ll be thinking of you at the desk tomorrow…1:45AM).

    Reply

    • singingchickadee
      Jun 10, 2012 @ 06:47:11

      Thanks, Travis 🙂 I may be taking you up on that! And thank you for working my desk this morning, I really, really appreciate it. So far, day one of the trip is going splendidly. Hope your week goes well too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

