Movement II of Denver Adventures

Today Janna, Sicily and I went to church, got some coffee, and drove around in Janna’s Big Green Monster of a car.

Janna by her monstrous ford explorer!

We also watched The King’s Speech. That movie is amazing. His final speech at the end is underscored by the second movement of Beethoven’s seventh symphony, which is very moving. I was reminded of how a part of my musical self often starves during the summer due to classical music withdrawals. Over the summer I don’t sing in choir, opera season is over, there are few concerts in general and I don’t have to listen to any classical recordings for my classes. Now that I know how much I love classical music (apparently it took me a four-year degree to fully realize this) I should listen to more classical recordings. Anyway, here’s the second movement of Beethoven’s seventh, for your listening pleasure.

After The King’s Speech, we took a beautiful walk through the Coloradan suburbs. Colorado is a seriously beautiful state. The whole place smells like a pine air freshener.

After our walk we went to Janna’s family’s house to eat dinner. We had shish-kabobs, corn on the cob, and cut up strawberries, kiwi and watermelon. Their yard and house are gorgeous, her family is awesome, and we ended the evening with s’mores- the perfect ending to a great day.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura Kate
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 05:11:45

    Mmm, I wish my world smelled like pine! And it sounds like you are having a great time – with delicious food. And I, too, am live-music-starved over the summer. Little beginner kids don’t quite fill the gap. 😛

    Reply

  2. singingchickadee
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 14:34:30

    We are! And I know, the first concert of the fall always feels like… like coming back home to an old friend. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

