Requiem in Rock

In an hour I’m going to be singing with my church’s worship band. Wednesday nights are when we rehearse, and Sunday mornings we pull things together for our service. It’s one of my favorite– no, I think it’s my very favorite– weekday commitment. Singing harmony into a mike with guitars and bass and drums is a great feeling, and singing worship music– well, that goes without saying.

Speaking of worship music, Austin introduced me yesterday to a great album by the David Crowder* Band. It’s their latest (and probably their last) one called Give Us Rest or (A Requiem Mass in C [The Happiest of All Keys]). (Incidentally, the key of C also stands for God in the tradition of church music.) It’s based on the Latin mass for the dead, the Requiem mass. In my humble opinion, that is the best ever idea for a themed album. I’ve sung several Requiem masses and I have a general idea of the formula. It’s fascinating to see it played out in a rock album. For instance, here’s Kyrie Eleison:

The album includes Latin chant, synthesized effects, folky elements and a satisfying rock sound. I haven’t heard the whole thing yet, but I’m really looking forward to exploring this new musical entity.

Leave a Reply

