Rest in peace, Zach Booher.

My friend Zach Booher died last night.

I keep thinking of him as “my friend,” even though we really didn’t know each other that well. My life will not change materially due to his absence. But for some reason it matters, it hurts.

Zach was half of a two-man band that I’ve mentioned here before: While We’re Up. He was so young and had so much ahead of him– a lifelong friendship with Steven Rouk and all the music they were going to make. Steven lost his best friend. Friendships like that don’t come along very often. Zach is irreplaceable. Steven might never have another friendship like it; they were creative musical partners, closer than brothers.

Zach and Steven were on tour when their car crashed. Zach died at the scene of the accident. Steven is in the hospital, and I have no idea what his condition is.

Zach has the caution tape guitar strap and the darker hair. He is dead.

I can’t believe he’s gone.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joseph Richardson
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 11:06:51

    I’m very sorry to hear about your friend. 😦 I’ll say a prayer for you and for him and for everyone who loved him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

