The Lovely Teaching Monster

Today is my first day of elementary school, and I am a nervous child. I can still remember waiting for the school bus on my first day of Kindergarten. I don’t remember the nervousness, I only remember the excitement. I wonder if I was more nervous then or now; which is more frightening, being a student when you’re five or being a teacher when you’re twenty-two?

If anyone has been wondering where I’ve been for the past couple of weeks, the teaching monster swallowed me whole. It’s a cuddly and ferocious monster. It reminds me of the film Where the Wild Things Are, when Jack crawls into the Wild Thing’s mouth; my choice. And I have been exhausted all week, but thank Jesus, there has been music. Julia and I have been singing our children’s songs as we prepare our lessons. There may be many more children’s choirs and folk song arrangements on this blog in the future, but stick with me.

Jesus adored children, and now His children are in my care. It seems silly to be worried about what second grade children think of you, but I hope they like me. I hope they think I’m pretty and that I’m nice and much more, I hope they think music is fun, and beautiful, and special. 

Here we go.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joseph Richardson
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 08:41:00

    Good luck. I know it will turn out wonderfully. God bless you.

    Reply

  2. Bruce Spangler
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 10:18:14

    Been there, done that – you will survive & you will be a wonderful teacher just like your mom.

    Reply

  3. Grandpa Lutze
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 06:56:01

    Chantel,
    We are praying for your enormous success. God bless you
    Grandpa and Grandma

    Reply

Leave a Reply

