Student and Teacher

I’ve been a student for the past… seventeen years. Wow. And I’ll be a student for two more as I work towards my masters degree. I’ve always felt like teaching would be a way to stay in school, and I suppose it is, but being a student feels much more comfortable than being a teacher. (That could have something to do with being a student for seventeen years and only having been a teacher for three weeks.)

Being a first-year music teacher is frightening, and demanding, and exciting, but one thing that does not surprise me is that it makes me into even more of a student. Not only am I learning about the craft of teaching, but I’m learning more about music. If you want to become master of something, try teaching it. There’s nothing for learning like teaching. For instance, I am much more familiar with Haydn’s Surprise Symphony than before. If you’d like a surprise, just listen. Haydn was tired of people falling asleep during his concerts…

Leave a Reply

